Garamendi announces winners of congressional art competition

Garamendi announces winners of Congressional High School Art Competition
Rep. Garamendi poses with the winning artwork called "Belonging" by Alizon Minjarez. (Photos courtesy of the congressman's office).

Jesse Bethel High student Alizon Minjarez won the grand prize and Pinole Valley High student Emily King earned Runner Up in this year’s Congressional High School Art Competition, Congressman John Garamendi (D-CA) announced at a ceremony this week in Suisun City.

Minjarez proved she has a “rare gift” with her submission, “Belonging,” which will be displayed at the U.S. Capitol for a year in a gallery featuring winners from Congressional Districts throughout the country, according to Garamendi’s office.

King earned Runner Up honors for her piece, “Matilda.”

Emily King’s “Matilda”

Additional award winners are listed below by city or area. A gallery of every art piece is available here.

“Every year, I’m always amazed by the incredible talent and quality of art we receive for the Congressional High School Art Competition,” Garamendi said. “This competition is a team effort. Our panel of independent judges performed the tough task of narrowing down the winners. Teachers, parents, and mentors worked behind the scenes to offer encouragement, advice, and inspiration. And most importantly, these students knew they were artists and photographers with something important to say. Congratulations to everyone who participated in this year’s Congressional High School Art Competition.”

A gallery of every art piece is available here.

The full list of student submissions is listed below:

Grand Prize Winner

Alizon Minjarez, Jesse Bethel High School, Vallejo, “Belonging”

Runner Up

Emily King, Pinole Valley High School, San Pablo, “Matilda”

Contra Costa County Winners

Jennifer Carvalho, Pinole Valley High School, San Pablo, “The Human Touch”

Jayhanna Dizon, Pinole Valley High School, Pinole, “An Isolated Heart”

San Pablo

Pinole Valley High School

Ayaa Alatig, “Point!”

Jennifer Carvalho, “The Human Touch”

Jennifer Carvalho, “Peace in the Valley”

Emily King, “Matilda”

Fernanda Polanco, “China Town SF”

Maria Trujillo, “Luminary”

El Cerrito

Albany High School

Sabrina Yee, “Ripple Effect of Service”


Pinole Valley High School

Jayhanna Dizon, “An Isolated Heart”

Ava Grijalva, “California Dreaming”

Ryan Grisso, “DAWN”

Lincoln Jones, “Bill the Gull”

Melanie Saenz, “More Than Friends”

Ayla Serrano, “SKYLINE”

Tristen Williams, “Track STAR”

Aiden Wu, “Urban Spaces”


Pinole Valley High School

Jhillian Diaz, “Line Without a Hook”

Solano County Winners

Raven Guilas, Jesse Bethel High School, Vallejo, “To Let Go”

Michelle Jimenez Jimenez, Public Safety Academy, Fairfield, “The Route to the Direction of Hope”


Jesse Bethel High School

Gabrielle Blair, “i totally get the meaning of this”

Hanna Boyer, “Perception”

Dante Canady, “The Controlled”

Natalia Castaneda, “Sorrow”

Kamri Cruz, “Window Music”

Kamri Cruz, “Cruz Street”

Karmina Esquivel, “Spoilage”

Karmin Esquivel, “Still”

Karina Gonzalez, “Robbed”

Karina Gonzalez, “Loathing Partum”

Raven Guilas, “Hallucinogenics”

Raven Guilas, “To Let Go”

Mariano Hernandez, “THE FACTORY”

Jasmine Ku, “The Way to the Eternal Afterlife”

Alizon Minjarez, “Close to Death”

Alizon Minjarez, “Belonging”

Michelle Moraz, “The Body is Only Temporary The Soul is Eternal”

Naomi Munro, “The Growth of Times”

Amanda Saeteurn, “Homelessness”

Abigail Vargas, “A Moment”

Abigail Vargas, “Relaxing with Friend”

Olga Gabriela Vasquez De Leon, “La Matriz”

Dalon Woodard, “Drawing of Bruce”

Vallejo High School

Rafael Garcia Flores Jr., “PATHWAY”

Justin Hilario, “FLY AWAY”

Justin Hilario, “STILL LIFE, FLORAL”

Desmond Landers, “MANDALA”

Solei Nelson, “Potential”


Pinole Valley High School

Christopher Jacob Bruce-Apalis, “Backroads”


Public Safety Academy

Michelle Jimenez, “The Route to the Direction of Hope”