Swearing-in Ceremony for Richmond City Council set for Tuesday

Richmond residents invited to community meetings on city's budget
Richmond City Hall (Photo by Mike Kinney)

By Kathy Chouteau

The three Richmond City Councilmembers who were elected in November are set to be sworn in on Tuesday, Jan. 12.

The “City of Richmond Swearing-in Ceremony” for re-elected and newly elected councilmembers Melvin Willis (who represents District 1), Gayle McLaughlin (District 5) and Claudia Jimenez (District 6) will be held at Richmond City Council Chambers at 440 Civic Center Plaza in Richmond at 6:30 p.m. Community members can view the ceremony on Zoom (passcode: ccmeeting) or click here and scroll down for other viewing options.

Joining Willis, McLaughlin and Jimenez on the Richmond City Council will be Mayor Tom Butt and current Councilmembers Nathaniel Bates, Demnlus Johnson, III and Eduardo Martinez.

November 2020 marked the city of Richmond’s move to district elections, where voters only voted for the candidate who resides within their respective district. This is the city’s council district map.

Pastor Ulis Redic of Richmond’s Mount Zion Baptist Church will start the ceremony off with an invocation, followed by expressions of gratitude to departing councilmembers from Mayor Butt,  Bates (who has been serving as vice mayor), Sen. Nancy Skinner, Assemblymember Buffy Wicks and Councilmembers Johnson, III and Martinez. The mayor will then provide an Acknowledgement of Service Awards to outgoing Councilmembers Ben Choi and Jael Myrick.

City Clerk Pamela Christian will administer the Oath of Office and Certificates of Election to Willis, McLaughlin and Jimenez individually. After a welcome to the newly sworn-in councilmembers, City Manager Laura Snideman and the mayor will give closing remarks.

Learn more about the City of Richmond Swearing-in Ceremony and history of the Richmond City Council here.