Supervisor Karen Mitchoff appointed as Board Chair for 2022

Contra Costa County extends eviction moratorium for renters impacted by COVID-19
Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors (from left to right: Diane Burgis, Federal Glover, Candace Andersen, Karen Mitchoff, John Gioia) (Credit: Contra Costa County)

District 4 Supervisor Karen Mitchoff was named chair of the Contra Costa Board of Supervisors during the Board’s annual reorganization meeting on Tuesday, while District 5 Supervisor Federal Glover was named Vice Chair. 

Mitchoff, who began her public service in 1981 and has served as a supervisor since 2011, assumes the Chair role from outgoing Chair Diane Burgis, the supervisor of District 3.

“In my final year as an elected official for Contra Costa County, I am excited about what lies ahead and ready to work together to keep improving the quality of life in our County,” said Supervisor Mitchoff.

Mitchoff credited Burgis’ dedication and leadership amid the COVID-19 pandemic last year.

“As Chair, I intend to work with my colleagues to support public health measures that protect lives and keep our workers and residents healthy and safe, support and push for the delivery of quality programs and services to meet the needs of individuals, families, businesses and communities, and move the County toward greater economic recovery and normalcy in what has been unprecedented times,” Mitchoff said. 

The Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors is a five-member elected body that sets the direction of County government and oversees its $4.061 billion budget to serve this large and diverse East Bay County.