Progressives capture Richmond City Council and mayoral seat


The Richmond Progressive Alliance had much to cheer about Tuesday night after its members and supporters captured both Richmond City Council and the mayoral seat.

Councilmember Tom Butt, who is not an RPA member but formed an alliance with the progressive group, defeated Nat Bates for mayor. (unofficial final results below)

RPA members Eduardo Martinez, current Vice Mayor Jovanka Beckles and Mayor Gayle McLaughlin (termed out as mayor) won all three available four-year council seats.

Councilmember Jael Myrick, who like Butt is not an RPA member but received support from the group, defeated fellow Councilmember Corky Booze to win the two-year seat.

Because the progressives dominate City Hall seats, they’ll have the power to choose who will fill Butt’s council seat, meaning the RPA could potentially have four members filling six council seats.

Mayoral election results


Four-year council seat results


Two-year council seat results



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here