Jan 5, 2015
No comments

Richmond Mayor Tom Butt and four council members will be sworn into office during a ceremony and reception on Jan. 13.

The swearing-in will start at 6:30 p.m. in the Richmond City Council Chamber, 440 Civic Center Plaza, with a reception to follow in the lobby of the nearby Richmond Memorial Convention Center.

Butt, a moderate progressive and veteran on the council, will be joined in the ceremony by newly-elected council members Eduardo Martinez and Gayle McLaughlin (formerly mayor) and re-elected council members Jovanka Beckles and Jael Myrick.

The Richmond Progressive Alliance dominated the November elections, with members Beckles, McLaughlin and Martinez defeating pro-business candidates backed by Chevron. Butt’s alliance with the RPA was meant to help in the effort to secure three of the council’s six seats for the progressives.

Nat Bates, the Chevron-backed candidate who lost to Butt in the mayoral election, will remain on the council for another two years. The sixth and final council seat has yet to be filled and will be determined by council.


About the Author

Mike Aldax is the editor of the Richmond Standard. He has 13 years of journalism experience, most recently as a reporter for the San Francisco Examiner. He previously held roles as reporter and editor at Bay City News, Napa Valley Register, Garden Island Newspaper in Kaua’i, and the Queens Courier in New York City.