Mayor Tom Butt and four council members to be sworn in Jan. 13

RPD's summer crime prevention fair Saturday offers food, fun and signatures for fix-it tickets

Richmond Mayor Tom Butt and four council members will be sworn into office during a ceremony and reception on Jan. 13.

The swearing-in will start at 6:30 p.m. in the Richmond City Council Chamber, 440 Civic Center Plaza, with a reception to follow in the lobby of the nearby Richmond Memorial Convention Center.

Butt, a moderate progressive and veteran on the council, will be joined in the ceremony by newly-elected council members Eduardo Martinez and Gayle McLaughlin (formerly mayor) and re-elected council members Jovanka Beckles and Jael Myrick.

The Richmond Progressive Alliance dominated the November elections, with members Beckles, McLaughlin and Martinez defeating pro-business candidates backed by Chevron. Butt’s alliance with the RPA was meant to help in the effort to secure three of the council’s six seats for the progressives.

Nat Bates, the Chevron-backed candidate who lost to Butt in the mayoral election, will remain on the council for another two years. The sixth and final council seat has yet to be filled and will be determined by council.